When it comes to minors and selling or serving alcohol, in Nevada, a minor is considered any person under the age of 21 years. And the law in Nevada is simple – anyone under the age of 21 is not allowed to purchase or consume alcohol (NRS 202.020, Clark County Code 8.20.340, Washoe County Code 30.235).
There are a few exceptions to NRS 202.020 which says it is against the law in Nevada for a minor to alcohol in their possession.
The exceptions are:
- A minor may possess alcohol for an established religious purpose. (Communion Wine, etc.)
- A parent or legal guardian (who is at least 21 years of age) may give alcohol to their child. However, there are three important conditions:
- The minor must be their child. (No nieces, nephews, friends, neighbors, etc.).
- The alcohol must be given inside their home or dwelling place. (Minors may not drink alcohol in a public place including restaurants).
- The parent or legal guardian who is giving alcohol to the minor must be with the minor at the time.
- A minor may possess alcohol if it is prescribed by a licensed physician.
- A minor may handle or transport alcohol (sealed) if he or she works for a licensed manufacturer, wholesaler, or retailer.
NRS 202.030 indicates minors are not allowed to loiter on premises where alcohol is sold. For instance, a minor may walk freely throughout a grocery store but are prohibited from the alcohol aisles. For instance, a minor dine at a restaurant where liquor is served but they are not permitted to dine within the bar area.
[dt_sc_button link=”https://aacsnv.com/liquor-laws-1-5/” size=”small” variation=”red” align=”left” target=”_self”]Continue[/dt_sc_button]